7 Regions In One Madhesh State

Kailali (combining the current districts of Kailali and Kanchanpur): Capital Mahendranagar
Tharuhat: Capital Nepalgunj
Awadh: Capital Bhairahawa
Chitwan (the current district by that name): Capital Narayanghat
Bhojpura: Capital Birgunj
Mithila: Capital Janakpur
Kochila: Capital Biratnagar

State Capital: Narayanghat (as a goodwill gesture to the 40% Parvates in the Terai, also because it is the geographic center of the Terai, also for its good climate, and the limitless supply of drinking water from the Narayani, to build the top city in all of Nepal, to make it a software hub)

Political implications: Kailali, Chitwan and Kochila will likely have Parvate regional chiefs, and that is okay. The state capital will be in Narayanghat. When you get rid of the current district boundaries, having seven regions in the state will be more efficient than having only two, or four.

There will be right to self determination. That is unavoidable. Just like you can not imagine a democracy where the state is not secular, the cutting edge kind of federalism necessarily has a right to self determination. That is like saying sovereignty rests with the people, as it does.

But if you keep Kailali, Chitwan and Kochila as part of the Madehsh state, you are looking at a Madhesh state where the Parvates are 40% of the state population, and likely more and more Parvates will descend south in search of greener pastures. Unless that Madhesh state legislature has a 50% support for a referendum, there will not be a referendum on the separate country question. So having Kailali, Chitwan and Kochila as part of the Madhesh state is what people who profess they want to keep Nepal intact as one country should want. But they want the opposite! They want to take these sections out of the Madhesh state, which will make a breakup of the country more likely.


Popular posts from this blog

फोरम र राजपा बीच एकीकरण: किन र कसरी?

नेपालभित्र समानता को संभावना देखिएन, मधेस अलग देश बन्छ अब

फोरम, राजपा र स्वराजी को एकीकरण मैं छ मधेसको उद्धार